Unable to reproduce global melt cookbook results in the ASPECT manual

Hi everyone,

I am unable to reproduce the global melt cookbook models (as shown in the ASPECT manual) for recent versions of ASPECT. I have tried and failed to reproduce these results using the virtual machine image (ASPECT 2.5.0-pre and deal.II 9.4.0) as well as my native Linux install (ASPECT 2.4.0-pre and deal.II 9.3.3). I was successful previously in a much older version of ASPECT that I once had installed (version 2.0.1 and deal.II 9.0.1).

Note that I have made no changes to the input parameter files. I am simply trying to rerun these cookbook models and reproduce the results shown in the manual. Is anyone else able to successfully reproduce the global melt (with melt) cookbook models?

Thanks,
Micah

Hi Micah,
I am not an expert in the melt models, but could you specify what you mean when you say “unable to reproduce”? Melt models are highly nonlinear and so very small changes in our algorithms can lead to large differences over the model runtime. So if your downwellings and upwellings and melt regions are simply in different places at different times that could be just a consequence of updates to our algorithms. If however the model crashes, or you dont see melt at all that would be reason for concern and we could discuss how to look deeper into the issue.

Best,
Rene