Prescribe boundary temperature conditions in melt model

Hi all,

I am currently studying the melt model in ASPECT (e.g., global_melt, Dannberg & Heister, 2016), and the content of this part is still new to me.

I’d like to :

1. Change the geometry to a spherical shell.

2. Prescribe the boundary temperature model as ‘dynamic core’

I want to know how to prescribe the temperature-related boundary conditions so that the upper (or surface) and lower (or bottom) temperatures of this geometry model correspond to the outer/inner temperature in the dynamic core. I think the key to this problem lies in how to set initial temperature boundary condition ?

Assuming I have,

set Adiabatic surface temperature = 1600

subsection Geometry model
  set Model name = spherical shell
  subsection Spherical shell
    set Inner radius = 1900e3
    set Outer radius = 3000e3
    set Opening angle = 90
  end
end

subsection Boundary temperature model
  set Model name = dynamic core
  subsection Dynamic core
    set Inner temperature = 2100
    set Outer temperature = 300 # 300K is the actual surface temperature.
  end
end

If the subsection Initial temperature model similar to the one used in global_melt is still used here, then how should I set this part ? or is there a better way ?

Best,

Xie

Xie,
I have to admit that I don’t quite understand your question :frowning: The initial temperature is conceptually separate from the boundary temperature. You can choose them independently, and ASPECT makes no assumption about their relationship.

I assume you have read about the parameter that need to be set for the dynamic core plugin, and what they mean?

Best
Wolfgang