Problem about initial temperature model

Hi there,
I am a beginner of ASPECT.
Now,i want to test a simple model with initial topography .
I want to set a initial temperature that increasing with depth.
But I found that the result seems wrong :
1、 Initial temperature changes only at the bottom of the model, not throughout the model

2、 I’m not sure if P represents pressure, and if so, why does it have a positive value. Normally, at surface pressure is zero.

gravity-box.prm (6.2 KB)
simple-geometry.txt (211 Bytes)
temperature.txt (1.9 KB)

I look forward to your reply.
Best regards,
HangWu

Hi Hang,

Welcome! Thank you for posting the question to the forum and all of the files needed to examine the issue. A few answers below.

First, I imagine you have already seen the tests that use the same the method for the initial temperature (ascii profile):
temperature profile
initial temperature profile test prm file

1、 Initial temperature changes only at the bottom of the model, not throughout the model

To start, what you have implemented looks correct for the initial temperature.

subsection Initial temperature model
  set Model name = ascii profile

subsection Ascii data model
     set Data directory = /home/aspect/aspect/build/test-gravity/
     set Data file name = temperature.txt
     set Scale factor = 1
  end
end

Likewise, the depth values in temperature.txt are consistent with your model geometry.

Request - can you also post the log.txt from your simulation to ensure that the correct temperature.txt is in fact being read? I can’t imagine it is not (an error should be thrown), but it would be good to check.

What appears to be happening is that the bottom and top temperatures are set from the boundary temperature model section, but the initial temperature values are not read in correctly.

Can you try the following: