How to add mantle convection to a continental extension system

Hi all,
I’m a beginner of ASPECT. I want to simulate the influence of different rift formation mechanisms (Active rifting, Passive rifting, Combined model) on rift evolution. And I have basically understood continental_extension.prm in cookbooks. I want to know how to generate a steady-state mantle convection on this basis, which can create a stress field at the bottom of the lithosphere. What examples can I refer to? What boundary conditions, material models, or anything else do I need to change or add?

Hi Wang,

Thanks for posting this question to the forum. This is more of a general research question rather an ASPECT-specific one, but an interesting topic nonetheless.

To simulate how stresses at the base of the lithosphere drive rifting, as opposed to boundary velocities at the lithosphere, I can envision a few setups:

1. Use the two merged boxes geometry, where one “box” represents the lithosphere and the second represents the convecting mantle. The lateral walls of the lithosphere would have traction boundary conditions, allowing material to flow in and out. The convecting mantle “box” would have applied velocity boundary conditions that produce a convective cell with divergent flow in the model center.

2. Similar to 1, but start with free-slip on all sides, an initial thermal anomaly that creates two convection cells with upwelling at the center, and a highly rigid lithosphere such that no significant deformation occurs. Run that model until you reach a convective steady state, then change the properties of the lithosphere to allow failure and switch the lateral walls to traction BCs. I believe Kenni Petersen published some rifting studies where he first simulated mantle convection that reached steady, then initiated rifting (don’t recall the specific details).