Choosing a Material Model for Boussinesq

Hi,

I’m an undergrad student trying to set up a relatively simple 3D spherical shell computation using the Boussinesq approximation and non-dimensional input parameters to reproduce a published paper’s results. The paper implements a variable, temperature-dependent viscosity (Frank-Kamenetskii rheology, if that helps describe my case) that I need to work out in ASPECT. However, I cannot find an appropriate material model that I can both: 1) fit the viscosity scaling to, and 2) apply the paper’s parameters as inputs.

In the ASPECT manual, the “nondimensional” model’s viscosity equation can be made to fit the viscosity I want, and I seem to be able to provide the input parameters. However, although in the “model name” subsection of the manual it mentions the model being built for Boussinesq, ALA or TALA approximations, there is no input parameter to specify to use a Boussinesq equation of state (only ALA or TALA). Thus, there is an unwanted depth-dependence in the density formula used by the model.

The density formula I want is the same as in the “simpler” model.

How can I set up the material model I want (Boussinesq state, temperature-dependent viscosity)? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ian

Hi Ian,

thank you for using ASPECT and welcome to the community!
There is a separate part of the input file that lets you specify what approximation of the equations you want to use, so this is not part of the material model. In order to use the Boussinesq approximation, you would add

subsection Formulation
  set Formulation = Boussinesq approximation
end

to your input file. This is independent of the material model, so in principle, you can use any material model you want with that. It sounds like the nondimensional model would be the easiest way forward (but you could also use the simpler model if that works better). For a Boussinesq model, Di should be zero, and this should remove the pressure-dependence in the density.