Visco plastic material model results in constant (minimum) viscosity

Hello ASPECT community!

I’m a grad student working on modeling convection in an icy shell, I have a question about a 2D visco plastic model with variable viscosity that my advisor and I have been working on. Specifically about how the viscosity is calculated. Referring to Section 2.2.1 of this paper, equations 5 and 14:

Equation 5 is the same form described in the ASPECT documentation for our visco plastic material model.

We mainly reference values from this work (https://doi.org/10.1029/2000JB900336) which models the deformation of ice to set the value for constants. In the subsection Material model, model name visco platic, we set the following parameters:

Minimum strain rate = 1.e-20
Reference strain rate = 1.e-16
Minimum viscosity = 1e13
Maximum viscosity = 1e14

Viscosity averaging scheme = harmonic
Viscous flow law = diffusion
A = Prefactors for diffusion creep = 6.181e-14
E = Activation energies for diffusion creep = 49.0e3
V = Activation volumes for diffusion creep = 0
n = Stress exponents for diffusion creep = 1.8 (from Han and Showman 2011)
m = Grain size exponents for diffusion creep = 1.4
d = Grain size = 1e-2

We were expecting to achieve variable-viscosity within our flows, however the viscosity remains constant at 1e13 (the minimum viscosity limit we set in the parameters):

Going back to equation 14 referenced earlier, our total viscosity being limited to the minimum could be due to the maximum viscosity (μ_max) and effective viscoplastic viscosity (μ_vp / eff) in the second half of equation 14 being much less than the minimum viscosity (μ_min).