Set up a plate velocity at the top boundary in a 2D model

Hi all,
I am a PhD student who just started using aspect to investigate plume-lithosphere interaction. I want to set up a 2D model with a plate velocity at the top where a plume upwells from the centre of the bottom.
My model setup is as follows.

subsection Boundary velocity model
set Prescribed velocity boundary indicators = left y: function, right y:function, top:function
subsection Function
set Variable names = x,z
set Function constants = u0=0.05
set Function expression = if (z=0,u0,0);0
end
end

subsection Boundary traction model
set Prescribed traction boundary indicators = bottom:initial lithostatic pressure,right x:initial lithostatic pressure, left x:initial lithostatic pressure
subsection Initial lithostatic pressure
set Representative point = 0,0
set Number of integration points = 1000
end
end

However, the result is that the model as a whole all has a velocity Vx, and however I changed the prescribed velocity, it doesn’t seem to make a difference.
Could anyone please give me some suggestions on how to achieve my model setup? Thank you in advance for your help!

Cheers
Ziqi

Hi Ziqi,

It looks like you prescribe a horizontal velocity at the surface; and the left, right, and bottom boundaries have a stress (the lithospheric pressure) prescribed. So there is nothing that resists the sidewards motion of the plate and your whole model moves towards the side.